Ironman 70.3 World Champs – Spectating (part 1 – Saturday)

Our weekend started with a late Friday night drive to our hotel, right in the heart of race central.  Up early Saturday morning with the ironkids triathlon, where both my girls completed!  


There is no prouder moment as a parent then watching your kids with massive smiles on their faces enjoying a sport that brings me so much satisfaction!




Imagine my utter surprise & elation when they crossed the line & got to receive their medals from one of the legends of our sport Mark Allen!  Our brief discussion left me a little star struck but over the moon with excitement!


This is the view from our hotel room, a hotel we have been staying at for years, twice a year for the past 3 years!  Ocean views & the course right on our doorstep!


After the busy morning we chilled in our room watching the transition area slowly fill up!  Getting ichy feet, we headed to the beach & to checkout the action a little closer.  Later in the afternoon Eammon & I decided to do a little course reconnaissance, and WOW, just WOW, it almost made me glad I hadn’t qualified!  I haven’t hit my max heart rate for a long time, but swear it was going to beat right out of my chest!



Check the elevation profile!  All I can say is good luck to all athletes competing tomorrow, chose your gears early, gind it out & enjoy the opportunity.  Tomorrow is race day & im volunteering at a run aid station. It’s not racing, like I desperately want to be doing, but I’m looking forward to giving back to an event & sport that has given me so much!

Part 2 of this blog will hopefully go live tomorrow night!

Till next time build consistency, keep smiling and live to Tri!

Leave a comment